Thursday, December 26, 2013

ACM/IEEE-CS Computer Science Curricula 2013 (CS2013) Final Report

I was pleased and honored to be a part of the committee that developed this document over a period of several years. If you are interested in undergraduate computer science education this is a must read.

We are delighted to announce the release of the ACM/IEEE-CS Computer Science Curricula 2013 (CS2013) Final Report. The report is available at the CS2013 website ( or directly at:

(The report will also soon be posted at the ACM website as well as at

The CS2013 Final Report contains guidance for undergraduate programs in computer science, including a revised Body of Knowledge, over 80 course exemplars (showing how the CS2013 Body of Knowledge may be covered in a variety of actual fielded courses), and 5 full curricular exemplars from a variety of educational institutions. The report also contains discussions of characteristics of CS graduates, design dimensions in introductory courses, and institutional challenges in CS programs, among other topics. The report has been endorsed by both the ACM and IEEE-Computer Society. We hope you find it useful.

CS2013 Steering Committee

ACM Delegationacm

Mehran Sahami, Chair (Stanford University) Andrea Danyluk (Williams College) Sally Fincher (University of Kent) Kathleen Fisher (Tufts University) Dan Grossman (University of Washington) Beth Hawthorne (Union County College) Randy Katz (UC Berkeley) Rich LeBlanc (Seattle University) Dave Reed (Creighton University)

IEEE-CS Delegationieee_logo

Steve Roach, Chair (Exelis Inc.) Ernesto Cuadros-Vargas (Univ. Catolica San Pablo, Peru) Ronald Dodge (US Military Academy) Robert France (Colorado State University) Amruth Kumar (Ramapo College of New Jersey) Brian Robinson (ABB Corporation) Remzi Seker (Embry-Riddle Aeronautical Univ.) Alfred Thompson (Microsoft)

No comments: